- This event has passed.
Spring – Women’s LTC Course
September 10, 2022 @ 9:00 am - 2:00 pm
This course content is identical to our other License to Carry courses. However, this is a women’s only course, with a woman course instructor.
- All Training will be held at SGA’s Spring, TX Location
- All paperwork and range time. Rental Guns Available.
- FREE Coffee and Donuts
- Includes coupon for 5% off gun purchase or a free range pass to use at a later date.
What do I need to bring?
Eye and Ear Protection, a handgun and fifty (50) Brass cased Rounds. Handgun Rentals and Ammo are available at the store. You must have a valid driver license or identification card. However, you do not have to have a Texas Drivers License or be a resident of Texas.
How long is the course?
The course is four (4) hours, plus the shooting portion of the test. The course is about five (5) hours total.
How hard is the written test?
If you pay attention during the class you should have no trouble passing.
How hard is the shooting portion of the course?
The shooting portion of the course consists of 20 rounds at three (3) yards, 20 rounds at seven (7) yards and 10 rounds at fifteen (15) yards. It is a fairly easy test, but you must be able to load, operate and fire a firearm with some proficiency. This is a course on gun laws and a shooting test, not a basic pistol class. We offer basic pistol instruction at our “Learn to Shoot” classes.
What is the cost of the course?
The fee paid to Spring Guns & Ammo is $69.95, which includes the range fee for the shooting portion of the course. Upon completion, you will be given a Free Range Pass ($17.00 value) and 5% off of a firearm, if purchased within five (5) days.
The fee paid to the State is $40.00 (the State fee is half-price for seniors & veterans), which is good for about five (5) years. You must also complete finger printing at a cost of typically $10.00.
Will I have to complete a renewal course?
Renewals are now completed online and don’t require a course.
Do I qualify to obtain my LTC (License to Carry)?
Spring Guns & Ammo does not perform a background check or issue the License to Carry. Spring Guns & Ammo certifies to the State that you have completed the proper training required to obtain your License to Carry.
The State will not discuss an application with Spring Guns & Ammo or its personnel. Questions regarding an application should be directed to the Department of Public Safety.
A felony, ever, or a class A or B misdemeanor, history of chemical dependency or domestic violence occurring within the last five (5) years will disqualify you as a candidate.
Does the course cover both open carry and concealed carry?
Yes, upon completion of the course you will have obtained a License to Carry, which includes both open and concealed carry, subject to limitations to be discussed in class.
Note: SGA has ammo for purchase at all locations.